FinnShark
Home Forums Gallery Links Events Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Register
Go Back   FinnShark > English Section > Visitors' Lounge
User Name
Password

Visitors' Lounge Post your questions about the Finnish Corvette hobby here.

Old 02.10.2004, 01:35
Anonymous

Another Minnesotan visitor...

Hello Corvette fanatics,
First, let me compliment you one your well designed website. I find it user friendly and interesting.
Next, I am related to one of your members, but will not let you know who it is. CLUE! This person drove my old Roadrunner in Minnesota recently. Although my car is quite worn, the driver was very good at shifting the cumbersome old muscle car. I'll let you find out who it is.
Last and most important.
I am inquiring about the gasoline (fuel) that you use to run in your vehicles. I am not a chemical engineer. However, we are now using alcohol in all our gasoline in Minnesota. I am a student at the University of Minnesota, and am looking at the driveability issues that occur when our vehicles use blended gasoline/alcohol (ethanol).

What I would like to know are things like:
How does Finland determine Octane ratings.
Do you have different grades of gasoline available for your daily driver cars?
Do your Corvettes use racing fuels available only at race tracks, and if so, who is the supplier of these fuels and what type of fuel are they?
Where does most of the gasoline you use in your regular street driven cars come from? The north sea? The moon? Saudi Arabia?
Is your fuel mixed with alcohol, and has it made any differences in the way your vehicles run?

Please take a moment to think about the gasoline you have used in the past and any engine performance changes you may have experienced over time.